As concerns about privacy and the amount of time we spend on social media rise, more individuals are inquiring about how to deactivate an Instagram account. There’s no disputing that Instagram is a fantastic medium for sharing personal knowledge and experiences, as well as promoting creative work and even selling stuff directly. It’s one of the most prominent social networks in the world, with over a billion subscribers, and a significant potential tool for reaching a larger audience.
However, there are several reasons why you might choose to abandon the platform. It might be that you’re worried about the parent business Meta possessing so much data. Perhaps you spend too much time on social media and want to avoid the temptation of opening the app every time you glance at your phone.
Whatever the reason, we’ll teach you how to deactivate an Instagram account and delete all of your information and history from the platform. If you’re sure you want out, you can erase your Instagram account forever. Otherwise, you may disable Instagram momentarily if you’re not sure whether you want to quit it permanently and destroy all of your past posts and Reels.
With the notion of a digital detox gaining traction, social networking applications, in particular, has come under fire for consuming too much of their users’ time. Not only are social networking applications a waste of time, but according to Facebook’s research, Instagram causes negative body image issues among adolescent girls! With such concerns arising from time to time, some are calling for Instagram accounts to be deleted or deactivated.
Deactivating your Instagram ID is only a short-term option for removing the app from your phone; all of your data and profile will remain with the corporation. If you delete your Instagram ID, however, you will permanently delete all of your data from the company’s servers, including images, videos, comments, likes, and follows.
What is the difference between Deactivating and Deleting an Instagram Account:
Users can deactivate or permanently delete their Instagram account, depending on their preferences. Whilst deactivating your account is only temporary, it will hide your profile, followers, photographs, likes, and comments from other people. Simply connect back into your account to regain access to all of your data and continue regular Instagram use. You can’t get your Instagram account back once you’ve deleted it, and you can’t restore a deleted account. When you deactivate your Instagram account, all of your data is permanently lost, including photos, followers, and likes. You and no one else will be permitted to use the same username if you decide to sign up for Instagram again in the future.
Steps to Deactivate your Instagram account:
Instagram cannot be deleted using the application; it can be performed through the Instagram website in a web browser. Follow these instructions to deactivate your Instagram account if you want to take a break from it:
Step 1: Log in to your Instagram account and go to your profile page by clicking on the person symbol.
Step 2: Choose Edit Profile, scroll to the bottom of the page, then select Temporarily deactivate my account.
Step 3: What is your reason for canceling your account? Choose a reason from the drop-down box that appears.
Step 4: Enter your password again and choose Temporarily deactivate the account.
Step 5: Your account has been disabled, and other users will be unable to access it until you log in again. You may only delete your Instagram account once a week, according to Instagram’s usage rules.
To re-enable your account, just simply log in via the app or the website. You will only be allowed to suspend your account once per week, so if you accidentally log back in, your postings will be available to followers again, at least for a short time.
Steps to Delete an Instagram Account:
Step 1: You might want to Download your Data first
Even if you want to permanently remove your Instagram account, you probably don’t want to lose all of the photographs and videos you’ve contributed to the site unless you’re quite certain you have them stored elsewhere. As a result, you should probably download your data first.
If you only want to download a single image or movie, you can do so through third-party websites. However, if you want to download everything, you may go the official approach and download all of your Instagram data in one giant zip file directly from Instagram. You can do this via the app or on the web, but to remove your Instagram account, you will have to use a browser.
Step 2: Use a Browser to sign in to your Instagram account
After you’ve downloaded your data and are certain you’re ready to permanently delete Instagram from your life, you may proceed to the process of deleting your account. You must first be logged in to a browser. There’s no way to remove your Instagram account from the mobile app, so if you haven’t already, go to www.instagram.com and sign in there first.
Step 3: Head to the Account Deletion Page
You may now access the account cancellation section of the Instagram website once you’ve logged in. A notice will appear, asking if you wish to delete your account. You must select a reason for this from the drop-down option. Privacy issues, data security worries, being overworked, and other factors are all possibilities.
Step 4: Deleting the Account
After you’ve decided why you want to delete anything, you’ll need to re-enter your password in the area below. After that, press the blue “Delete” button. Keep in mind that after you’ve clicked the button, the action can’t be reversed, but Instagram says it will wait a month before deleting your information.
Your profile will be concealed for one month, following which all of your photos and account history, including followers, likes, and comments, will be permanently removed. You will also be unable to establish a new account using the same username as previously.